Diving Into Middle-Earth for the First Time

I’m losing my J.R.R. Tolkien virginity today. I’m 34 years old and a self-proclaimed nerd, and yet I have never read Tolkien, nor have I seen the Peter Jackson films.

It’s not that I didn’t want to. I place the blame squarely on the shoulders of a former co-worker, Wayne, who said that The Lord of the Rings was the “best book ever.”  I’d never read it, so I had no opinion on the matter.  However, he said that about everything. Harry Potter, Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time…everything. Everything was the best ever. The. Best. Ever. It was so bad that I became resistant to reading anything he talked about, for fear of not being as thoroughly engrossed as he said I should be. (And then having to explain why I wasn’t as thoroughly engrossed as he was…)

That, and growing up in the 80s I was subjected to the 1970s cartoon version of The Hobbit (complete with Leonard Nimoy singing about Bilbo Baggins). That cartoon scared me half to death. I was scarred for a very long time!

At long last I have decided to lose my Tolkien virginity. And I want to write about my experience discovering this new world.  I think my journey to Middle-Earth might be just as interesting as the story itself, and I’m hoping that if I have questions, I can ask them here and have the support of the Tolkien legions of fans to help me.

And so it begins.  The Hobbit, page one….

10 comments

      1. It’s written order, and you do discover so much more (as he did) by reading them that way around. Remind me to ramble at you when you’ve finished it, because I can go on for yours on this one 😛
        But don’t pass up the Silmarillion when you finish LOTR, or the Appendices for that matter. Some of my favourite bits of the story are the bits he threw in as extras, or in the Sil’s case the ones that he never finished,

      2. Ooh, I can’t wait to ramble with you! And thank you for that advice. The man at the bookstore had to explain to me that Peter Jackson made three Hobbit movies from one book because I’d spent ten minutes searching for more Hobbit books!

  1. Sarabeth, the Hobbit is a wonderful tale told by a man deeply involved with religion. He was a best friend of C.S. Lewis, who wrote, The Chronicles of Narnia (I think that’s what he called it). The Hobbit (I’m told) can be read on many levels. Fortunately for me I can only read on one. It’s a hoot. Tolkien invents a whole world that Alice would have loved to explore through the looking glass. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

