Writing with Someone Else’s Voice

Have you ever been asked to wrote something for someone else? I’m not talking about writing fiction and moving between different characters. I’m talking about producing a piece of writing with someone else’s voice and tone.

I’ve written letters of recommendation for bosses before. Those are relatively easy because generally they follow a pattern.

I’m trying to come up with content for a friend’s website. It needs to include information about events and recaps of shows.  She’s a comedian.  And since she’s a comedian she wants everything to sound like her. 

I’m not a comedian.  I dropped out of comedy school because as Freud would say, I’m too anal retentive.  (Ironically, I was a valedictorian and I’ve never dropped out of anything)  So writing content in her voice is an interesting challenge.

However, I feel like it’s a good experience and it will broaden my horizons and all that jazz.

So…(insert humor here)

Leave a Reply

