On Writing: From Paper to Blog

You’ve heard me discuss the merits of pens and paper. I keep a list of possible blog topics in a notebook (pink, of course) and lately I have been writing full posts in the notebook as well (mostly in pink ink).

So now I have 5-6 blog posts in a pink notebook in pink ink…and now I have to move them from paper to blog.

It’s an interesting process because there is unintentional editing that takes place as I transcribe the words.  All of a sudden, what made sense before makes no sense now, or the insertion (or deletion) of a word or two makes all the difference in the world.

At present, I’m not moving the posts from my notebook to my blog because I am instead blogging about the process.  However, I’m certain I’m not the only one who does this.

Do you have a process for writing, either for your blog or other projects?

2 comments

    1. Isn’t funny how we use different tools for different writing tasks? I can draft fiction on my laptop with no issue, but ever since I started writing a nonfiction book, I have moved back to pen and paper. There’s something about the process for me that makes the tactile experience of writing it by hand helpful. It’s very weird…but if that’s what the muse requests, that’s what we do…

      Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

