INTRODUCTION TO DELETED SCENES FROM FAR PIECE TO CANAAN

For a great perspective on the writing process, be sure to follow Old Sam’s Blog!

Old Sam's Blog

INTRODUCTION 

As I said in my ABOUT section, the reason I’m writing this blog is to discuss things important to me that I can’t put on my Facebook fan page due to their length. The first posts have to do with my book, AFar Piece to Canaan. During the writing of a book many things are edited out. Sometimes you have to scrap what you consider your best writing. In the case of Canaan, I had a special problem to deal with; the manuscript was written in two parts and at different times in my life. The part dealing with the boys was written over 40 years in the past. In fact, I began writing Canaan at the start of my academic career (that would’ve been 1970). I finished it in 2 ½ years, during which time my academic responsibilities increased dramatically. I was teaching, doing clinical work…

View original post 230 more words

Leave a Reply

