My friend and my Hero, author A.J. Linn

Over a year ago I told my friend that he should be a writer.  We both love writing a lot, but he was doing really exciting things on Word Press and Twitter and he was just ready to make the move.  So being the cheerleader/motivator/instigator that I am, I’d like to think I pushed him into starting on this adventure in publishing.

He just published his second book.  I’m in awe of the man.

His pen name is A.J. Linn and A Gentleman’s Affair was his first book and A Gentleman’s Secret is his newest release.  Now he’s working on a prequel.  The man is indefatigable. (He hates when I throw out the SAT words…)

His books are based on a playboy hotel owner named Donovan Hart.  Donovan is tired of being single and he’s looking to find his one true love.  These are his stories.  If you haven’t read them, they’re perfect reads over Valentine’s Day if you’re on your own.

Linn’s characters have depth.  How do I know this?  You fall in love with them instantly, and you have the urge to smack them when they do things that you, the reader, know they shouldn’t be doing.  That love/desire-to-smack relationship should be the goal of any writer.

I’m proud of my friend because he navigated the world of self-publishing on his own and he got it done.  Some people talk about their goals, and he went out and did it.  That’s why he’s my hero.

Good job, Denver 😉

2 comments

  1. I am astounded at how often I hear the same compliment given to writers, some variation of “their characters are believable” or “have depth.” It’s also true; plot, genre, action and all the other window dressing is meaningless if your characters are cardboard cutouts.

Leave a Reply

